Congratulations to this year's Executive Class

The CIVIC Leadership Institute is Proud to Present the Class of 2021

Kenneth B. Barnes

Director of Learning and Development

Ferguson Enterprises

Robert W. Bodvake

Vice President & General Manager

Fairlead Integrated

Derby D. Brackett


Virginia Beach SPCA

Terry F. Byrum

Chief Scientist

Spectrum Comm Inc.

Angela K. Byrum


Navy Region Mid-Atlantic

Kirkpatrick S. Conley

President & Administrator

Sentara CarePlex Hospital

Dr. Marcia Conston


Tidewater Community College

Darius K. Davenport, Sr.


Crenshaw, Ware & Martin, PLC

CAPT. David S. Dees

Executive Officer

Naval Station Norfolk

Susanna A. Dellinger

Financial Advisor, Director

Waypoint Advisors, A Cary Street Partners Company

Mekbib L. Gemeda

Vice President of Diversity & Inclusion

Eastern Virginia Medical School

Dr. Jane Elyce F. Glasgow

Executive Director, Minus 9 to 5

Eastern Virginia Medical School

Meredith S. Gray

Director of Communications

Chrysler Museum of Art

Owen D. Griffin

Managing Partner & CFO

Northfield Medical Manufacturing

Stephen C. Griffin

Vice President, Accounting

Port of Virginia

Richard E. Groover


Wall, Einhorn & Chernitzer, P.C.

William L. Holt


Kaufman & Canoles, PC

Thomas L. Hotchkiss

Chief Credit Officer

Old Point National Bank

Stephen P. Huber


Birdsong Peanuts

Kevin M. Hughes

Director of Economic Development

City of Suffolk

Mike J. Jakubowski

EVP Commercial Lending


Morgan B. Jones

Director, Shore Integrated Requirements

Navy Region Mid-Atlantic

CAPT. Richelle L. Kay-Marriner (USN Ret.)

Community Volunteer

Christopher D. Lagow

EVP, General Counsel

PRA Group, Inc.

Jalana L. McCasland

VP - Physician Practice Management


Charles H. Mixer, II


The Franklin Johnston Group

Dr. Katerina Oskarsson

Chief Strategy Officer


Tara C. Ramsey


Instant Systems Inc.

Aaron R. Rouse

City Councilman

City of Virginia Beach

Mina Gary Ryan

Executive Director

Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art

Melinda F. Smith

Wealth Management Senior Advisor


Dr. Cullen B. Strawn

Executive Director for the Arts

Old Dominion University

Glenn A. Thompson

Vice President Business Development

W.M. Jordan Company, Inc.

Eileen A. Varnson

Vice President Marketing & Communication

Riverside Health System

Ryan M. Withers



CAPT. Michael L. Witherspoon

Commanding Officer

Joint Base Little Creek-Fort Story

Mary Beth E. Wusk

NASA Engineering and Safety Center Chief Engineer

NASA Langley Research Center

Kristine A. Worrell


Virginia Media


Class of 2021 Welcome Event
September 24, 2020, 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm

Opening Program Session
October 22, 2020

  • Morning Session – 9:30 am – 12:00 pm
  • Afternoon Session – 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm
  • Happy Hour – 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm

October 23, 2020

  • Morning Session – 9:30 am – 12:30 pm
  • Afternoon Session – 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm

November Program Day
November 5, 2020, 9:30 am – 3:30 pm with a 1 hour lunch break

Alumni Program Session
November 18, 2020, 5:00 pm – 7:00 pm

December Program Day
December 3, 2020, 8:00 am – 5:00 pm

January Program Day
January 21, 2021, 8:00 am – 5:00 pm

February Program Day 1 
February 11, 2021, 8:00 am – 5:00 pm

February Program Day 2
February 18, 2021, 8:00 am – 5:00 pm

March Program Day
March 18, 2021, 8:00 am – 5:00 pm

April Program Day
April 15, 2021, 8:00 am – 5:00 pm

Founders’ Luncheon
May 13, 2021

Closing Retreat 
June 10, 2021, 8:00 am-5:00 pm 
June 11, 2021, 8:00 am-5:00 pm