Connecting Leaders.

Improving Life.

Welcome, Class of 2018

We’re delighted to welcome the CIVIC Class of 2018.  Our class members arrive with professional success and achievement. Over the coming year, they’ll learn about issues and ideas we hope will inspire them to leverage that expertise in support of Hampton Roads. Our class members and alumni are seasoned professionals who bring extraordinary capacity to the issues that challenge Hampton Roads. They are actively engaged in public life as elected officials, members of boards and commissions, and as skilled volunteer experts working on pivotal issues important to the region like sea level rise, veteran transition, and the health and well-being of children, among others.

Presenting the Class of 2018

Mary Kate Andris

President & CEO 
YWCA of South Hampton Roads

Elizabeth C. Baroody


Dru E. Branche

Director, Environmental, Health & Safety       Newport News Shipbuilding

Terry E. Brown

Fort Monroe National Monument/National Park Service

Joanna G. Brumsey

Wall, Einhorn & Chernitzer, P.C.

Dr. Ron Carlee

Director, Center for Regional Excellence/ODU Visiting Assistant Professor      ODU

Jeffery S. Creekmore

Senior Vice President / Chesapeake Market Executive
Farmers Bank

Steven G. de Mik

Chief Operating Officer/Director of Operations 

Stephanie J. Dickens

Vice President of Strategic Growth      
Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group

Dr. Gail Dodge

Dean, College of Sciences
Old Dominion University

Colin Ducharme

Executive Director
Sterling Capital Management

Dr. Susan E. English 

Vice President for Academic Affairs  Thomas Nelson Community College

Christen Faatz

Vice President of Operations               
The Franklin Johnston Group

Katie A. Farris

Manager Production Planning and
Scheduling 3

Newport News Shipbuilding

CAPT. Joey L. Frantzen

Commander                     Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story

Christina Goode

Community Volunteer
Goode Family Foundation

Vance C. Griffin 

VP, Terminal Services
Virginia International Terminals

Benjy Hamm

Editorial Page Editor                           
The Virginian-Pilot

Nicole J. Harrell, Esq.

Kaufman & Canoles

Rich Hoherz

Chief Information Officer                    
Westminster-Canterbury on Chesapeake Bay

The Honorable Mamie B. Johnson

City of Norfolk

COL Herbert A. Joliat

633d Air Base Wing Vice Commander 
Joint Base Langley- Eustis

Scott D. Kaplan

President & CEO                                
Tidewater Jewish Foundation

Rebecca A. Kleinhample

Executive Director           Virginia Living Museum


CAPT. Matthew M. Kosnar

Commanding Officer
Naval Weapons Station Yorktown

Ronald J. Lauster, Jr.

Vice-President & Project Executive      
W. M. Jordan Company

Rupal K. Master

Director of Client Services       
Signature Family Wealth Advisers

Evans McMillion

Vice President of Research and Strategy
Reinvent Hampton Roads

JoAnna Miller

Creative Mill Productions

CAPT. Michael R. Moore

Chief of Staff
Commander, Navy Region Mid-Atlantic

Stephanie Morales

Commonwealth’s Attorney
Portsmouth Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office

William C. Ogelsby, III

Managing Director

Dr. Jutta-Annette Page

Executive Director                           Barry Art Museum, ODU

Ellen Pelstring

The BOW Group

Andrew Perkins

Executive Vice President/Chief Credit Officer   
Old Point National Bank

J. Bryan Plumlee, Esq.

Attorney/Partner              Poole Brooke Plumlee, PC

Jeff Pottinger

Chief Operating Officer                       
The Honor Foundation

Dr. Cynthia Romero, MD, FAAFP

Director                            Brock Institute at Eastern Virginia Medical School

CAPT. Bradley N. Rosen

Executive Officer
Naval Station Norfolk

John M. Ryan, Jr. 

Crowley, Liberatore, Ryan, & Brogan. P.C.

Nicolas Schuck

Corporate Vice President, Controller and Chief Accounting Officer        
Huntington Ingalls Industries

Dr. Jeffery O. Smith 

Hampton City Schools

Jordan Stanaway

Assistant General Counsel                   
ADS, Inc.

RADM Cindy Thebaud 

Rear Admiral
U.S. Navy (Ret)

Randy Thomas 

Vice President
Spacemakers, Inc

Jerrold L. Twigg 

Chief Operating Officer                       
VersAbility Resources Inc.

Teunsha L. Vick

Regional Family Services Director       
Habitat for Humanity PGW & SHR

CAPT. Chad P. Vincelette

Executive Officer                            Naval Air Station Oceana

Kate H. Wilson 

Director of Development
Chrysler Museum of Art


Class of 2018 Dates

Alumni Events

Program Day
Thursday, January 18, 2018

Program Day
Thursday, February 15, 2018

Program Day
Thursday, March 22, 2018

Program Day
Thursday, April 26, 2018

Mandatory Closing Retreat
Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Founders’ Luncheon
Wednesday, May 23, 2018