Celebrating contributions to regional leadership
Register Now

About the Darden Awards

The Darden Awards annually welcomes over 500 regional executives and community leaders to celebrate the honorees and their contributions to regional leadership.  Established in 2005, the Darden Award for Regional Leadership is named for CIVIC Leadership Institute’s Founder Emeritus, the late Joshua P. Darden Jr. 

Each year, one individual and one corporation from the Hampton Roads region is selected to receive the award.  Those who are honored, have delivered extraordinary service on boards, commissions and as community volunteers, worked to create sustainable efforts toward the betterment of life for the people of the Hampton Roads Region and demonstrate exceptional leadership in the pursuit of regional cooperation.

The CIVIC Leadership Institute is proud to present our 2019 Darden Awards Honorees. David R. Goode and Susan S. Goode will receive the Individual Darden Award and Kaufman & Canoles will be honored with the Corporate Darden Award at the 15th Annual Darden Awards for Regional Leadership on November 20th.

Thank you to our Title Sponsors, Towne Bank, and Ferguson, for making this event possible. The Darden Awards reception will be held on Wednesday, November 20, 2019, at the Decker Half Moone Center in Norfolk. Please join us to celebrate!

Sponsorships Available

Please contact sarahjane.kirkland@civichr.org for details or call (757) 683-6890.

Event Details

  • Date: Wednesday, November 20, 2019
    Time: 5:30 pm – 8:30 pm
  • Venue: Decker Half Moon Center – Downtown Norfolk, One Waterside Drive, Norfolk 23510
  • Parking: The closest parking garages are Town Point Garage or Main Street Garage
  • Reservations required: Tickets will be available Fall 2019


The 2019 Darden Awards is almost sold out. We are no longer accepting online reservations; however, if you would like to purchase a ticket, please call the CIVIC Office at 757-683-6890 or email executiveprograms@civichr.org. Thank you for your understanding.

David R. Goode and Susan S. Goode
Recipients of the 2019 Individual Darden Award
Kaufman & Canoles
Recipients of the 2019 Coporate Darden Award

Sponsors for the 2019 Darden Awards

We’re grateful for the support of the following sponsors.

Title Sponsors

Visionary Sponsor

Icon Sponsors

Table Sponsors

Mentor Sponsors

Friends of CIVIC Sponsors

A/V Sponsor

Media Sponsor

Video Sponsor

Vendor Sponsors