Working Hard.

Making Connections.

They make it possible.

Meet the Power Team

CIVIC Leadership Institute is so grateful to the Board of Directors who dedicate their time to continuing CIVIC’s mission.  We are proud to have them as an integral part of our organization. 

Executive Committee

chope-christopher-kitChristopher “Kit” Chope

Board Chair
Class of 2014
Vice President, Sustainability, The Port of Virginia

ellis-dawnaDawna Ellis

Past Board Chair
Class of 2014
Chief Financial Officer, Harvey Lindsay Commercial Real Estate

crow-billWilliam Crow

Chair, Strategic Planning
Class of 2009
President, Virginia Ship Repair Association

geis-bobRobert Geis

Chair, Alumni Council
Class of 2013
Deputy City Manager, City of Chesapeake

kemper-kayKay Kemper

Chair, Nominations and Board Development Executive Director Emeritus
President and CEO, Kemper Consulting, Inc.

mcclellan-andriaAndria McClellan

Chair, Development
Class of 2010
Norfolk City Councilwoman, Superward 6

shuford-robRob Shuford

Chair, Finance
Class of 2007
Executive VP & COO, Old Point National Bank

Board of Directors

brandon-alonzoAlonzo C. Brandon

ODU Liaison
Class of 2008
Vice President for University Advancement, Old Dominion University

calliott-stephanie-adlerStephanie Adler Calliott

Development Committee
Class of 2015

coleman-robRob Coleman

Class of 2014
Newport News, Deputy Sheriff, Newport News Sheriff’s Office

curtis-carolCarol Curtis

Strategic Planning Committee
Class of 2014
President, Noah Enterprises, Inc.

Alyssa Embree

Class of 2016
Partner, Williams Mullen

fleisig-lenLen Fleisig

Class of 2013
Partner, Willcox & Savage

harris-chavisChavis Harris

Class of 2012
Director, EEO, Ethics & Compliance, Newport News Shipbuilding

Ute Heidenreich

Class of 2015
General Counsel, TowneBank

larmore-morton-nemoMorton T. “Nemo” Larmore

Finance Committee
Class of 2014
Partner, KPMG

meier_karenKaren Meier

ODU Liaison
Class of 2013
Assistant Vice President for Community Engagement, Old Dominion University

spore-james-kJames K. Spore

President and CEO, Reinvent Hampton Roads

swann-kevinDr. Kevin G. Swann

Class of 2016
Senior Pastor, Ivy Baptist Church

wassmer-jeffJeff Wassmer

Class of 2009
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Spectrum